2004 Content January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December | Home




Listen and then CLICK on the picture
to get the answer to the question!

How many provences are in Canada?
a) 10
b) 11
c) 13
How many territories are there?
a) 2
b) 3
c) 4
What distinguishes a territory from a provence?
a) Land size
b) Population
c) Language
Who chooses the Prime Minister in Canada?
a) The party in power
b) The people by vote
c) The national cabinet
How many political parties does he mention?
a) 2
b) 3
c) 4
OK, now Steve, the Canadian political system and the American political system are quite different.
Could you explain to me how the Canadian political system works?

Sure. Basically in Canada there are 10 provences and three territories. We call the three territories, territories
because they have less than 50,000 people living in them. They're really far north, where it is cold and obviously
not so comfortable to live. The other ten provences are British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario,
Quebec, New Foundland, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. Each Provence has their provincial
government but as far as federal government the capital is in Ottawa, and there's actually an election coming
up, probably sometime this year. Each province is given seats in the federal cabinet and seats are given based
on population so Ontario and Quebec which have the largest populations have the most seats in Federal Parliament
and so wherever you live you basically vote for the politician who is running in your particular geographical area,
and the political party which wins the most seats forms the government that rules the country.
OK, and the leader of the country comes from that party?
Yeah, the leader of the country is elected within the party. They elect the leader (OK) So each party, when they
want a leader, they have a leadership convention, and they elect a leader to lead that party, but the leader of
the party must also run in their own constituency or riding, so if they don't win they can't be the Prime Minister,
so, yeah, the main political parties, right now the government is Liberal Government. Other prominent parties
are the New Democratic Party, sometimes called the NDP, and the New Conservative Party. Also a powerful party is
Bloc Quebecois, which has most of its seats obviously in Quebec, so there are four main political parties.
Question and Response

Q1: Did...?

Q2: Are...?

Q3: Do...?